The Republican base has elements that are animated by racism.

(CNN) – Over 50 years after Congress passed the Civil Rights Act, the issue of race is back in the political headlines, after comments from Attorney General Eric Holder and events marking the anniversary of the law’s passage renewed the dialogue over race relations in the 21st century.

Rep. Steve Israel, D-New York, said Sunday on CNN’s “State of the Union” that “not all” of his GOP colleagues are racist but “the Republican base does have elements that are animated by racism.”

4 thoughts on “The Republican base has elements that are animated by racism.

  1. ….“the Republican base does have elements that are animated by racism.”

    I can be so slow sometimes. Someone I know used the phrase “those people in the White House.” I was like, “you mean Democrats?”

  2. I know exactly how you feel NON. Someone I know used the phrase “those people” , when referring to a segment of citizens that believe in gun ownership, but are concerned and responsible enough to ask how to properly introduce their young children to the responsible use of these weapons. Only to be referred to as “those people”, as if I wanted to create an Army of eight year old’s.

  3. I really don’t know how to feel about politicians like Mr. Israel. I guess it would be nice to think that he is trying to distance himself from the “Tea Party” Republicans. But if that is the case, why wouldn’t he just say, “I am not like the Tea Party, and I believe they are destroying this country”? Something tells me that we may find the answer in his voting record.

Comments are closed.