Words

This morning my 10-year-old grandson remarked that he and I were ‘playing with words.’ Then he stated, “I like words!” Well, they are helpful yet I often point out to all of my grandchildren how obtuse the language can become. Now, don’t get me wrong- I like the English language. It is rich and deep, yet it must be awful to learn for those with a different native tongue. ‘Aren’t you glad you were born here?’ I often quip.

The German language has only a quarter of the words as English and when I write my German relatives I need to think whether my word choice has a counterpart in the German language. Often it does not

Take that word ‘does’ above.  How can one explain why the sound /duz/ is spelled DOES? By the way, what word refers to a pair of female deer?  Further, how does ‘goes’ sound?

Speaking of groups of animals, why are there foxes but not oxes? Why beers but not deers? How do the sounds of the three letters, t-h-e, produce the sound that is so difficult for non-native speakers? Who knows why the near-twin words ‘cow’ and ‘low’ sound oddly different? Wind the reel; real wind! Not a sound along the sound this morning. Mourning clothes. Moths ate a hole.  Eight whole kernels. Colonel Knight. Night came fast. The knot held fast. Fast for 40 days. The patient fell into a daze…

Complex, rich and duplicitous. Nonetheless, I love our common language.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Words

  1. Last year there was a TV program (American Secret Slang – History Channel) that explained where different slang words in American English originate. Most of our slang words are a deviation from the same word in a language spoken by immigrants in their original homeland.

  2. Very interesting. Then, of course, there are are regional vocabulary differences. Here in the Toledo area, I’ve noticed that we often drop the preposition ‘to’ in the phrase, ‘I’m going the store.’

    1. LOL – I forgot about our own little “differences” of vocabulary. I travel a lot in the U.S. and I don’t notice our own little oddities until I come home and hear someone else say them.

      Some more: “This afternoon”, “pop”, “can’t”

Comments are closed.