If you Want to Know Where the Money is…

Somewhere on Long Island much of America’s wealth is tied up in luxury, pampering those who demand the good life. If you recall Billy Joel’s 1980’s song, “lIt’s Still Rock and Roll to Me,” you may recall a reference to the “Miracle Mile” shopping center.

I drove past (was driven past) the 2014 edition of that shopping center yesterday to look at the luxury automobiles in the parking lot- a wish from two of my teenage grandsons. Name 10 of the most expensive cars you know; they were there, just aside of the luxury boutiques such as Ralph Lauren, Brooks Brothers, Prada, Giorgio Armani, Chanel, Theory, Louis Vuitton, Hermès, and Burberry, You know- places my feet have never tread upon.

Ever see a 2014 Rolls Royce? Two Phantoms. Ferrari, Lamborghini, and Porsche- several. Audi, BMW, and Mercedes-Benz- everywhere.

Here were two parked, casually, side-by-side. They were the top of the line, racing Lamborghini and Ferrari. Chrome plated! A cool $1.5 awaiting their drivers who just purchased a bauble or two.

20140505-111440.jpg

Perhaps you recall the famous line spoken in a presidential debate some years past- the line, “the great sucking sound.” If not, google it.

5 thoughts on “If you Want to Know Where the Money is…

  1. I used to have a friend who spent his vacations visiting “America’s Castles”. I guess he didn’t understand economics. I think of it this way: For every ultra-wealthy robber baron of the Gilded Age, there were at least 10,000,000 of his fellow citizens working to pay for it but living in poverty themselves.

    And working with charities has given me the opportunity to learn that the vast majority of the poor aren’t working the system. Just think of all the breakfasts one of those cars could have provided for the millions of children that went to school today hungry.

    My own personal experience is that I get a lot more “good feeling” from giving to charity than buying something pretty.

    1. NON- as we were leaving that unnatural world of opulence, I spotted two women waiting across the street at the bus stop. I made a point of their means of transportation for my still-drooling grandsons.

    1. As I look back on life, I realize life is made up of lucky opportunities and not so lucky opportunities. I feel very fortunate with the life I got and notice that many people have not been so fortunate.

      I also know that the real charity power, government, is way past what private charity can do. That’s why I give so much to political persons and/or causes. The Kochs may have numbers in their bank accounts, but I have numbers in voters. And the truth will win out if people hear the truth and no so many lies.

      I still honestly believe EACH of us can make the World a better place, both now and for people in the future.

Comments are closed.