The Matter with Kansas now: The Tea Party, the 1 percent and Delusional Democrats

Thomas Frank author of several books including What’s the Matter with Kansas? has penned an article for Salon.com with the name, The matter with Kansas now: The Tea Party, the 1 percent and delusional Democrats.  Of the latter, Frank writes, “Democrats believe demographics alone will defeat the Tea Party. It’s a smug fantasy: Economic populism’s the answer.”

Please read Frank’s column and be prepared to list 5 actions he proposes that Democrats can take to tamp down the agenda of the right-wing.

 

.

6 thoughts on “The Matter with Kansas now: The Tea Party, the 1 percent and Delusional Democrats

  1. Hey Bruh, “the kid” still has your back!

    Leave by charter bus for NO tomorrow evening, come back Sunday. The people I share office space are from there and are taking me to my first Mardi Gras. They are in their mid-20s and say they want to show me the real NO during this festive time which translates as bars, taverns, and Bourbon Street, lol……..One dad is pickin

    us up tomorrow night and will stay
    in his eight bedroom home. The other dad has rented a SUV for us to use. Another dad is having his birthday Friday, and after the two parades end around 10 he has made reservations to takes everyone out to a cultural restaurant/tavern to celebrate,(I envision a loma lindas of the ’60s lol). They keep teasing ME IF I’m up to a lot of walking and drinking. I think I’m getting
    to old for such fun!!! They say they will bring me back to the house when Im ready and they wont be in until 6 in the morning and back up for creole breakfasts at 8 each day. They say the weekend before Fat Tuesday is the
    best for the local people, as the tourist come in for Fat Tuesday. It really begins on Friday at 6pm. So, on Friday, they are taking me to Jackson Square, the Old cathedral there ,then to an above ground crypt cemetery,
    then to the centuries old French trade mart for coffee and beignets, then the river walk, then a paddlewheel steamer cruise on the River with afternoon pre- parade dinner, then to the parades. If we fall behind time, then they say we eliminate the River walk. I think by the time we finish the birthday party I will be ready to call it a day. Taking my nitro with me!

  2. HEY UTF…… That’s awesome. It’s a great city which I hope to one day have a Winter home. I’ve done Mardi Gras twice and am not a big fan. But I highly suggest JazzFest. A few tips. It’s pronounced Nawlins’. Also, take the Katrina tour. We went on that back in November. It was very good. Also, keep your wallet in your front pockets. Last thing, be prepared for the smell. It is awful! the reason is that Nawlins’ does not have sewers. And due to the lack of bathroom facilities there is a lot of public urination.

    Have a good time Buddy, it is a blast. Just be prepared.

  3. Thanks for those tips, JOB. Have been told not to reach done to pick up those coins from the floats, but to put my foot on them, or my hand will be trampled on, lol

Comments are closed.