Happy St. Patrick’s Day From Engineer of Knowledge

 

I want to start off by wishing everyone a Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

Now today I can’t help but think of all the financially decimated and starving Irish people who had to leave their families and friends to find a better life.

The absent British land owners shipping everything produced back to England while those who worked and produced crops starved.

So I would now ask of the Irish of the mid to late 1800’s……how did that trickle down theory work for them?

 

12 thoughts on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day From Engineer of Knowledge

  1. Well, that’s how my fathers family came to America. My great grandfather was an illiterate lad from Cork, unable to spell his own name and they never got it right…it took me years to figure out the original name. When he started out in America, there was so much anti Irish prejudice that he dropped the O…My mothers family came to the Chesapeake region with Calvert much earlier, able to escape the oppression of Cromwell.
    I listened to some of my favorite Irish music today…During the 1980’s, I got to meet the members of the great Irish band, The Pogues a few times and probably lost a few brain cells I didn’t really need in the process. My wife knew Tommy Clancy..I’m the result of a lot of different genes, but the real thread is Irish so I will wish you all,
    Sona Naomh Pádraig Lá a thabhairt duit mo chara!

    1. OMG, MD, Cork is where my great grandparents were from too! And, yes, we have had the same problem of the original name spelling. Any idea if they passed through Toledo on the way to Detroit area?My great grand
      father was an Irish laborer in the building of the original St. Patricks of
      Toledo…When I come to Toledo I always allow time to visit St. Patricks and just think of them….I never knew him as he had passed before I came
      on the scene…I do remember my great grandmother and visited her a number of times on the street car with my grandmother in the mid ’40s.
      If I have another trip to Toledo in me, I plan to see if their old place is
      still standing over off Detroit Avenue, near Monroe….Thanks for the
      memory jog, MD!

  2. Thank you, Engineer, and a top of the morn to you!

    My great gradmother came to America in the 1880s. After a brief stay in
    NYC, she and another female passenger started walking West. They walked
    as far as Toledo and could go no more. And, we today like to moan how bad it is!

  3. I haven’t a drop of Irish blood in me yet I am drawn to Irish literature and Irish music and, if I could, to Irish dance. Don’t know the draw but maybe in a former life…

  4. uptheflag, the immigration official couldn’t figure out how spell, let alone pronounce O’huigch…consequently when people first meet me they assume I am English because the name got written down as O’Howe and then they dropped the O . Thomas Howe first settled in Connecticut and became a self educated metal engineer and worked with Revere Copper and Brass…He went with the company to Detroit to manage the technical work…he seems to have been quite an innovator…then he became an entrepreneur with his own company. He built the giant cast iron stove that was a landmark in Detroit for many years. He also built the first grand house on West Grand Boulevard, which overlooked the Expressway after it was built. My father was fairly renown classic Irish Tenor. That legacy lived on in me, I had the range, I was always being shoved into choirs and theater groups as a child…but, well, years of screaming and growling rock music took its toll…I love to sing though, much to the distress the people I work with……

  5. I remember that cast iron stove well, MD. My father had family that
    left PA and Toledo and moved to Detroit, lived out Woodward. They
    introduced us to pizza, lol…We would go up to visit them and always end
    up at the pizza restaurant out there, would have been the late ’40s early
    ’50s…..One time all of us went to Tiger baseball game…The wife of my
    father’s cousin had never been to a ball game. A Tiger got a walk, and she asked my father why was he going to first base as he had done nothing. Dad said because he had four balls. She piped up, “walk proudly young man!” She was a character.

  6. Excellent point Muckrake!

    I would have to say that the ‘trickle down effect’ of British Wealth worked as well for the starving Irish as the presence of Saint Patrick worked for the Ancient Irish Snakes/Druids… resulting in ‘underground societies’… aye that is a pun… :)

  7. Yes, M_R, Engineer deserves a kudo for enlarging the topics! And, trickle down has worked well in this country too, just as it is in Great Britain under
    PM Cameron who is about to put that nation into its third or is it the fourth
    recession under his government?

Comments are closed.