Misogyny Directly from the Bible

Yesterday the House finally passed the renewal of the Violence Against Women Act with no help from Republicans. All of the no-votes came from Republicans- mostly from the South. Seventy-five no-votes were recorded from the Bible Belt states. Apparently women do not need protection from violence ‘down there.’ Just like the Bible says, women belong to another group: altogether different from and less worthy than males.

It would be a tedious task to enumerate all of the lines from the Bible putting women in their place- a place that is often below animals. There are passages that say that god/God orders the killing, rape, dismemberment, burning and stoning of women. Of course the words were written by women-hating Jewish scribes. This disdain is carried over to the New Testament writings as well. So much for ‘Love one another.’

Especially troubling is that concocted version of the Garden Story whee Eve gets blamed for the misery of the world, bang-off at the beginning of the Jewish bible. To those literalist fundamentalist, the ballgame is over for women at Genesis 3:16. Eve, representing women, is knocked down to 2nd place, beneath Adam. Those bible-thumpers ‘down there’ understand what ‘god’ demands; women are not worthy.

Can one draw a line from that 3000-year-old text to the present-day voting pattern in the Land of the Bible? If not, then why did 75 male legislators living in the Bible Belt vote against protecting women from violence?  And it was not a ‘Republican’ thing. In California, 8 Republicans voted aye; in Colorado 3 of 4 Republicans voted aye; in Illinois, 4 of 6 voted aye; in Indiana there were 6 of 7 aye votes from Republicans. 5 aye votes in Michigan and 6 in Ohio from Republicans.

It’s a Bible Belt phenomenon.

I wonder what women feel like down there?  I mean, REALLY feel. We’ll never know because, I suppose, Bible Belt women know their place and/or are afraid to speak their true feelings.

Perhaps our friend UptheFlag could comment on this as he sits in the heart of the Bible Belt.

6 thoughts on “Misogyny Directly from the Bible

  1. M_R, Souther culture is not my bag, lol, I just happen to live here. Just a yankee carpetbagger! Perhaps, you would be interested in perusing a comple books by Richard Hofstadter. His “AGE OF REFROM” and
    “THE PARANOID STYLE IN AMERICAN POLITICS’, both would have
    been written in the early 1960’s. Hofstadter is a liberal Harvard professor
    who has written extensively on the South.

    Hofstadter great influenced the Kennedys

    1. Yes, I know that you are a Yankee Carpetbagger, but that does not disqualify you from making observations about the gentile folks thereabout.

  2. I am a woman in the Bible Belt. In my state, the most restrictive abortion law in the country is about to become law. It outlaws abortion as soon as the cells that will become a fetal heart start rhythmically contracting, at about five weeks. Many women don’t even know they are pregnant by this point, especially if they have irregular menstrual cycles to begin with. This law will make no exception for severe fetal anomalies, even if the fetus will never be viable. It makes no exception for rape or incest. We are back in the days of a Bible that told women they had to marry their rapists, who could never, ever divorce them.

    My stomach has been in a knot this entire legislative session All our elected officials have talked about is fetuses and guns, guns and fetuses. The Tea Party is in charge of the state capitol, and human rights are getting flushed down the drain.

    I’m too old to get pregnant, and definitely too old to be personally affected by this law, but what it says about my worth as a woman, as a thinking human being, devastates me. Solely because of my gender, I cannot be trusted to make decisions about my health and the health of any unborn child I might carry. Nor can anyone else born without a Y chromosome.

    I have never liked living here. People tend to be willfully ignorant, racist, homophobic, disdainful of education, untraveled, and hyper-religious to the point of denying the reality right in front of their faces. But never before have I seriously considered what it would take to move away from here, to go someplace like Vermont or Washington State, to live in a place where not only would I be respected as a thinking human being capable of making ethical decisions for myself, but surrounded by like-minded people for a change.

    I’ve thought about leaving my extended family, who I know would not follow me. I have wondered how often I would see my son, who is my only child and still is the light of my life, even though he is a grown man. I have thought about leaving my comfortable home, making new friends in a strange place, and who would care, in this new place I would go to, if I lived or died.

    I don’t want to live in a place where the law restricts me or people like me – my sisters in gender, if not in generation – from doing what we think is honestly best for ourselves.

    I feel trapped. This is a dystopic nightmare from which I hope I will soon awake. I am afraid, though, that The Handmaid’s Tale will not be fiction for long.

    1. … but what it says about my worth as a woman, as a thinking human being, devastates me.

      Yes, a direct correlation between the words of the Bible and the lawmakers of your state, a reflection, I assume, of the constituents of the district from which they were sent to DC or to your state capitol.

      I am truly touched and saddened by your comments here, Aramink. Truly.

      It must be terribly difficult to be surrounded by, as you see it, “willfully ignorant, racist, homophobic, disdainful of education, untraveled, and hyper-religious” people. Terribly difficult. Of course, up here in northern Ohio there are these people too; however, they are ‘diluted’ by a plethora of others who are not like that. For example, when my wife and I worked throughout 2012 for the Obama Campaign, we were constantly surrounded by tolerant, travelled, educated, non-biased people. Literally surrounded. Yet, as we walked our neighborhood routes, we would occasionally encounter those whom you described. Yet, those few were the oddity rather than the norm.

      You said that you have considered leaving your extended family. That is interesting, because my wife and I are becoming increasingly intolerant of the winters here and have thought about moving ‘south.’ However, the fear of both moving away from friends and family is equally dreaded as the fear of being surrounded by those you describe above.

      We have concluded that we will endure our 3 months of winter to enjoy the 9 months of friendships we have established here with like-minded people.

      Further, because the U.S. has such a pathetic rail system, neither of us, you nor we would be able to easily and quickly visit family as the Europeans easily do. Of course, that would take an investment of ‘government’ money and you clearly know which set of people obstruct such use of ‘their’ tax dollars.

      I am not familiar with The Handmaid’s Tale, but I’ll check into that piece.

      Thanks for sharing your concerns with us.

      1. The Handmaid’s Tale is a dystopian novel by Canadian writer Margaret Atwood. A very mediocre movie starring Natasha Richardson and Robert Duvall was made based on it. The book is a gripping story of the religious right’s takeover of American government and what it means for women’s rights.

  3. In a previous comment nrecently covering something agains about the Bible
    Belt, I mentioned that you can’t paint a simple broad picture of all the states.
    I said that some changes have been happening…Lets look at the Mississippi
    delegation vote on the woman’s violence act this week. In MS both GOP
    Senators voted aye as did my GOP representative. How did you say
    your representative Latta voted? LOL!

    Then, the Mississippi Legislature killed all three abortion bills.

Comments are closed.