Excommunication in the Offing

Today at 2 PM may be the commencement of my excommunication from the Roman Catholic Church. Hallelujah! One might ask what dastardly deed will I be engaged in. Just for fun, I looked up the ‘actions’ that can bring on that renting of relationship with the church.

  • Procuring of abortion
  • Apostasy: The total rejection of the Christian faith.
  • Heresy: The obstinate post-baptismal denial of some truth, which must be believed with divine and Catholic faith.
  • Schism: The rejection of the authority and jurisdiction of the pope as head of the Church.
  • Desecration of sacred species (Holy Communion)
  • Physical attack on the pope

The first and last are out; this leaves the other 4.  Hmm, probably.

Rather, today at 2 PM I will be participating in the ordination of a person with no y-chromosomes!  Can you imagine that!! She doesn’t have the right ‘stuff.’ One must have a penis to become a priest because…well…. because…

At the church this afternoon there will be a ‘no photograph area’ for those Catholics who fear that their photo will appear on the news or in the newspaper. Poor schleps.

I, on the other hand, will not be sitting there.  In fact, I am thinking about wearing a name tag.

[Article in Toledo Blade]

I wonder what a letter of excommunication looks like? If I receive one, I’ll be sure to post it here.  I further wonder if the letter will be accompanied by a wallet-size excommunication card that I can flash at anyone investigating my current religious affiliation. “May I see your RA card, sir?”

What a hoot.  Stay tuned, fellow bloggers, for updates to this post.

Wish me well.

I may be going to Hell!

excommunication-and-execution-of-father-hidalgo-1953.jpg!Blog

UPDATE 2/10

Over 100 people were in attendance for the service including members of faiths other than R. Catholic. A sprinkling of RC clergy were in attendance as well, those brave souls not heeding the orders from the Toledo bishop or Mother Superior. The bishop warned all priests of the diocese that they would face serious consequences if they attended.  Imagine the foolishness!

Fear.  It was all about control. The RC hierarchy is afraid that their time as the good old boy’s club is over.  There are serious cracks in the foundation and, like Jericho, them walls will soon be falling down. But not without a fight, naturally.

In an email this AM, my son asked if we were yet excommunicated. Instant excommunication is rare, but we may not ‘survive’ the week.  I’m anxious! It was told around the table during refreshments that a priest who acknowledged the authority of women priests a year ago received his excommunication papers by FedEx. I’ll check out the 4 PM truck each afternoon for my ‘delivery.’

Video of the service c/o David Yonke, Toledofaves.com

14 thoughts on “Excommunication in the Offing

  1. meet ya there, I already bought my extra large economy sized bag of marshmallows…you might want to bring your own stick…..

  2. I think it is rather peculiar that they (Catholics) refer to ‘excommunication’ in that way… when the whole time it is they who fail to comprehend what others communicate! … :)
    And with respect to birth control… due to the ‘majestic life style’ of the Pope who is a want to be god… and heads the Vatican treasury… one can plainly see that opposition to birth control is viewed as good business practice… more babies equals more members and equals more membership dues… and whereas they have historical evidence of their often sadistic disregard for human life… there can be no other reason for their refusal to support the right of people rising above the status of asses and actually taking control of the biological aspects that affect their lives… ie… choosing when and if they will procreate….

    1. I think it is rather peculiar…

      The entire philosophy is rather peculiar if you step back and examine at this religion. But then, I ‘believe’ that religion in and of itself is oddly peculiar. While such ‘imaginings’ may have been useful and necessary during ancient and relatively ignorant times, that need fails here in the 21st century.

  3. As you know, M_R, I have become involved in my county’s Democratic Party, as a last resort. In any event, at the February meeeting I was asked
    to be a volunteer at the remaining abortion clinic in MS, and we may soon
    have none as this one has run afoul of a new law that says any abortion doctor must have hospital privileges. And, the hospitals will not grant
    such privilieges as they fear demonstrations and reprisals. I suppose the church would like at my participation as helping to procur an abourtion.Maybe I can bring the hot dogs and the chips?

    1. Hey, the party’s open to everyone, my friend!

      I’m afraid, though, that it’s filling up fast what with the hundreds of thousands of Chinese, Indonesian and Indian pagans dying each day! Just think- 2 billion Chinese pagans now alive; within 60 years they’ll all be in Hell, too!

      By the way, is Copernicus there or did he get a reprieve after science found him to be correct?

    1. And now a word from our sponsor:

      “Israel holds 10 women for wearing prayer shawls at holy site.”

        1. I think Pope Nazi made a deal to avoid a scandal. If Hilter had that option, he’d probably have resigned too.

        2. I keep hearing that Israel is the only democracy in the Middle East. And a really good friend of the United States.

          “JERUSALEM (Reuters) – Israel gave final approval on Monday for 90 new settler homes in the occupied West Bank, driving another wedge into a rift with Washington ahead of a visit by U.S. President Barack Obama.”

          What’s this democracy of which you speak? And tell me again what being a friend means.

          1. And I’m old enough to recall that Mussolini was a good friend of Hitler who traded part of Italy for a country called the Vatican in exchange for some Jews. The Vatican were the Pope IS the law.

            (Oh, that’s why we never hear the outcome of the scandals relating to the official cover-ups by the Roman Catholic Dynasty and the laundering of money through the Vatican Bank.)

            1. Too bad we can’t put the Vatican under Israeli control. They deserve each other.

  4. A number of years ago, in a very public venue, I attended a Roman Catholic Mass celebrated by an active Sister.

    Did I mention it took place in Sylvania, Ohio? Just down the street from St. Joseph’s. During the mass she gave a speech (sermon) that included her conversation on an airplane with then Cardinal Ratzinger. He said he had heard of her and she was making waves. She said the Church was afraid to excommunicate her because she was so well known.

    And this part confused me: She said not only was he very polite, he was even humorous. Go figure.

Comments are closed.