Groupe Coordination Aude Mali

ImageI have been trying to assist a small NGO group that has been working with a Malian Touareg tribe for the last 25 years. They directly assist with water,agricultural, educational and cultural projects. One of coordinators is one of my oldest and best friends. He actually led a caravan of donkeys across the Sahara and made a documentary which was shown in the USA on PBS and the History Channel called Donkey Caravan to Timbuktu. I would have loved to post it, but at this time, to post it and give it too much internet presence would mark the tribesmen in documentary for death. Just this last weekend, the Algerian Islamist Al Qaeda Coalition AQMI effectively seized control of 2/3 of Mali. The Touaregs had been leading the opposition to the AQMI coup d’etat. The immediate need is to get as many of these people out of Mali as quickly as possible. My friends are on the ground in Mauritania and Burkina Faso setting up camps, but they desperately need the basic tools for survival. Food, transportation and fuel.

On my blog, thebrainpolice, I have tried to provide as much background as I can safely get away with. We have also established a PayPal donations site. The button is on the side of my blog. There is also a link for a great cd called Music for Desert Refugees released earlier this summer by the English label Glitterhouse. Malian music is world reknown and the proceeds from this project go directly to 2 other NGO groups working on the ground in both Mauritania and Burkina Faso. If you donate anything, a few bucks…you will be saving lives and I humbly thank you.

I realize that we all so much on our plates these days, but any donation will be used by people who know how to make your donation work to save lives now. Time is of the essence here.

 

8 thoughts on “Groupe Coordination Aude Mali

  1. and what does you small donation buy? cornmeal, rice, cassava flour. You pay to get women and children across the Sahara. The alternative is walking 900 miles on foot to Mauritania, Burkina Faso or up to Algeria and they are doing because it is the choice between life or death and maybe having a future. This is the third time in 30 years these people have had to flee their homes…

  2. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to help. A note to others thinking of making a donation:

    Enter the EURO amount first before completing the billing information.
    The Euro to dollar exchange rate is 1.0000 euro to 1.2567 dollars
    That means a 100 euro donation will cost you $125.67 in U.S. currency (just think how far that will go in relief help!)

    Now a question (and I’m not being cheap, this just allows me to donate more): Do you know if this is recognized by the U.S. I.R.S. as tax deductible?

  3. NOW, thank you so much for your generosity. I got an email from my friend telling me…He actually is my closest neighbor, but we live almost a kilometer apart…I’m on top of the hill,he lives in the valley. His wife rescues and rehabilitates horses and I store the hay in my barn. We have been friends for over 20 years…He asked me to compose a thank you message in english…I think he will send you a thank you for your donation. Groupe Coordination Aude Mali is a legitimate registered NGO, their financial info is posted on line and of course they are tax deductible charity. I would recommend, if you are interested in finding the video, which I cannot post on my blog, Marius organized it and his buddy Mark Aardenburg, the Dutch documentary maker filmed it….these are the people that GCAM have been working with…try this link:http://youtu.be/5Ua5LZtT18w

  4. MD, thank you and your friend. Yesterday morning millions of people were asked to put something into the collection basket to make the World a better place. You and I both know that much of that money collected will be used to spread harm to others.

    Mr. Mud knocks on doors every weekend trying to make the World a better place. I can go to sleep tonight knowing I helped just a little bit.

    Thanks again!

  5. Hi Microdot,

    Interesting, especially for me since I was born in Mali (Bamako). I don’t remember any of it because my parents flew back to France (with me of course) when I was 9 months old. The main reason being that the infant mortality in Mali is out of this world, and particularly deadly for caucasian children.

    Speaking of music going on there: I once saw an interesting short film about a native family with a whole bunch of kids, all of them playing home made percussion instruments. It wasn’t exactly of the standard of Steve Gadd on drums, lol, but quite amazing still.

    However, to say “Malian music is world renown” is rather stupid and uniformed. I don’t know what “world” you’re referring to, but it certainly ain’t Europe, nor Australia, nor the part of America I lived in for 2 years.

    But I appreciate your gesture to encourage people to donate money to Malians. They are one of the poorest African countries, and therefore one of the poorest countries in the world.

    1. It is good to know and quite assuring, Microdot, that some people have all of the knowledge in the entire world. I ‘visited’ his blog and it is still nothing but a personal bitch session.

Comments are closed.