Got any Meaningful Plans for 2012?

It’s that time once again for the traditional New Year’s resolutions- promises often not kept. So beyond the usual trite stuff, do you have any substantive plans to do something meaningful for a person, group or society in general? At my age, I often look at obituaries more than I used to do in my youth. Some are long, others short. Many highlight the deceased’s accomplishments during their years on earth. ‘Loved to bowl, ‘enjoyed watching the Browns,’ ‘was a fan of NASCAR racing.’ Beyond that trite stuff, are things like, ‘enjoyed being with family and friends,’ or ‘ worked in a soup kitchen.’

Did you ever think of what YOUR obituary will say? Do you worry that, perhaps, like a resume, it may be spotty and incomplete?

I hope that the person who writes my obituary will not highlight that fact that ‘he loved his blog.’

Rather, I’d be happy [although I’ll never know it] with a sentence that read, ‘ he cared for his family, friends and the underprivileged throughout his life.’

That would be enough.

23 thoughts on “Got any Meaningful Plans for 2012?

  1. I had a New Years celebration with some of my friends last night. My toast to the gathering was to congratulate us all for having “gotten away with it” again for another year.
    I would like to think that I have a positive influence on the world I live in. I can’t think of myself in another other tense but the present. Did I make a resolution to drink less…or more? In any case, I think the most positive thing would be to drink more or less….
    Aside from that, we watched the great 1927 Fritz Lang Film, Metropolis again last night. At the end of the film, I resolved to be much more expressionistic, in the early silent film German sense in 2012…
    My heartiest best New Year Wishes to you Mudrake and I am so happy that you got away with it again for another year.

  2. Retake the House and deny Mitch McConnell the chance to become Senate Majority Leader!

  3. Mud- This post is what I’m talking about on my blog. You should think about explaining yourself better, and maybe getting a little more personal. Even though I agree with you very little, I still believe you are a good man. If you got a little more personal, maybe that goodness would shine.

    1. JOB- thanks for that comment, but I do not intend to “expose myself” any further on your blog than I already have. After all, future astronauts landing on an alien planet will not remove their space suits and be exposed to toxic and festering substances that are harmful to themselves.

      I have absolutely no respect for any of the posse who post comments on your blog. They have proven themselves to be bobble-head, reactionary right-wing zealots who bark nonsense and belch venom. Why the hell would I want to remove my Hazmat suit in that alternate universe in which they operate?

      1. I agree. They are always trying to find more personal information about me and bait me by stating crap they make up. Everyday I read about crazy people killing innocents and frankly J.O.B., you’re in a clutch of crazies.

        1. NON- I’m not going to speak for anyone else, but when I say get a little more personal, all I mean is including some personal stories. I’m not saying he should give his address or height & weight, or anything like that.

          1. I don’t know if you will ever read this, but here goes. My family and I are somewhat well known in Northwest Ohio. There are some people who might use something I write to try and embarrass them or me. It has happened already. Plus, think how it would look if I was caught arguing with some of them; you aren’t supposed to pick on people who don’t know better. We need better education and more truthful news coverage in this Country.

            1. NON- I read it. Thanks, but I think you’re still missing my point. To better explain what I mean, I will give an example. I have a post up now about the Freedom of Speech. Under comments, you might say “When I was at OSU, my roomate burned a flag in protest. It made me mad, but yet , I understood it.” That’s what I mean, and you would still keep your anonymity

            2. NON- there is no reason for ‘exposing’ your identity to people in the Net. If someone is encouraging you to do so, they must have specious motives for that. Why would it be important to do such a thing? Who you are doesn’t matter; what you think and believe in is all that matters on a blog. My advice is: be very cautious about giving yourself away because there is ulterior motive in such a request.

              Interestingly, several bloggers have tried to ferret-out info about me, but I knew why they wanted to do that. Two of them wanted to ‘challenge me’ to a physical fight, believing me to be some sort of wuss. Had we met, they may have backed down on their machismo.

              1. Interesting sidenote……They keep getting on me for changing my moniker. It was Jeff (my real name), then JIO (Jeff In Ohio) and finally Northwest Ohio Native. All three monikers and more have been challenged and/or removed by various service providers. I assume because of complaints registered against me. They know this, but want me to admit it on their blogs. Funny how they scream about Freedom of Speech but are the first ones to try to restrict it. Even old blowhard Sgt. Price (aka CommonSense), the history expert/revisionist, seems to be the one leading the charge against The Constitution. And the little minions just follow blindly behind. I have actually learned from this behavior; I assume tmany Germans under Hitler failed in a similar fashion.

                1. They keep getting on me

                  Of course they do; that’s what bullies do. Surely by now, NON, your have realized that they are a clutch of bullies, stuck in adolescence, with a very limited knowledge of the world.

                  Why bother any more?

                  I drove a stake down the throat of Sgt. Price, aka Common Sense, a few days ago, as you may have read. He is such a blowhard, pseudo-intellectual that I just had to silence the moron.

                  That’s the problem over there on the far-right edge of the universe: a little bit of knowledge. Didn’t someone say something about a little knowledge is dangerous? I’d suggest that you stay away from those toxic waste sites and stick with places like this to share your thoughts and opinions. Remember what your mother said: Don’t play at the dump!

  4. I just posted a joke? on JOB Johny’s funny ass friday post…maybe I should share it here because it is slightly radioactive and I might have to seal it in a lead lined containment facility:
    A liberal muslim homosexual ACLU lawyer professor and abortion doctor was teaching a class on Karl Marx, known atheist

    ”Before the class begins, you must get on your knees and worship Marx and accept that he was the most highly-evolved being the world has ever known, even greater than Jesus Christ!”

    At this moment, a brave, patriotic, pro-life Navy SEAL champion who had served 1500 tours of duty and understood the necessity of war and fully supported all military decision made by the United States stood up and held up a rock.

    ”How old is this rock, pinhead?”

    The arrogant professor smirked quite Jewishly and smugly replied “4.6 billion years, you stupid Christian”

    ”Wrong. It’s been 5,000 years since God created it. If it was 4.6 billion years old and evolution, as you say, is real… then it should be an animal now”

    The professor was visibly shaken, and dropped his chalk and copy of Origin of the Species. He stormed out of the room crying those liberal crocodile tears. The same tears liberals cry for the “poor” (who today live in such luxury that most own refrigerators) when they jealously try to claw justly earned wealth from the deserving job creators. There is no doubt that at this point our professor, DeShawn Washington, wished he had pulled himself up by his bootstraps and become more than a sophist liberal professor. He wished so much that he had a gun to shoot himself from embarrassment, but he himself had petitioned against them!

    The students applauded and all registered Republican that day and accepted Jesus as their lord and savior. An eagle named “Small Government” flew into the room and perched atop the American Flag and shed a tear on the chalk. The pledge of allegiance was read several times, and God himself showed up and enacted a flat tax rate across the country.

    The professor lost his tenure and was fired the next day. He died of the gay plague AIDS and was tossed into the lake of fire for all eternity.

    Semper Fi.
    p.s. close the borders

    1. Microdot- the interesting aspect of political jokes such as yours and the ones posted on JOB’s blog is that there is always a kernel of truth to them. Recently JOB posted one [right-wing] and Engineer thought that it was a real political statement. Engineer was laughed-at by the posse of wingers who flock to JOB’s blog for not ‘getting’ the joke.

      I pointed out to the posse and to JOB that the joke sounded quite a bit like the right-wing talking points that I hear from the posse every day on their blogs.

      Naturally, I was pounced-upon by the self-righteous wingers; but then, what else would you expect from that group of dolts? Apparently they cannot distinguish their own political philosophy from ‘humor’ in the same genre. Of course, they do live in an alternate, bubble universe where the laws of life are radically different than what we are used to here in the Milky Way.

      1. Lest anyone not realize the extent of depravity of the posse, one of them recently posted a picture of a young man with Downs Syndrome wearing his Halloween costume. The “group” this proceeded to make fun of him. It just made me sick that anyone could sink to that depth of inhumanity.

        1. The “group” this proceeded to make fun of him.

          That doesn’t surprise me at all. I think I used to do that in 4th grade. NON, why would you expect that group to have moved very far from their adolescent years? It is clear to me that they are stuck at that developmental age.

  5. but, I am a professional anarchistical type mofo! I don’t have problems, I make problems! that’s another of my New Years Revolutions!

  6. I don’t have problems, I make problems!

    Maybe that describes me, too.

    I just returned from JOB’s blog. Yesterday the oh-so righteous member of the wing posse told me that the 4 synoptic gospels were written by 4 of the apostles of Jesus. I told him his was dreadfully wrong. Then another posse member jumped all over me for my heresy. JOB himself didn’t know that the Gospels weren’t written by the disciples of Jesus.

    I make problems. That’s because I demand facts. The wingers are woefully lacking in facts, yet one of them said of me,

    “Mud_PILE* really isn’t much of a challenge from an intellectual point of view.”

    Imagine that.

    Pathetic stew of idiocy bubbling up over there on the right-side of life.

    * to denigrate me, he has to call me names like we used to on the elementary school playground

    1. Well everybody knows Jesue didn’t write the Bible! King James did silly.

Comments are closed.