Klan-baggers and Other Jesus-Pimpers

Although not a regular church-goer any longer, I have no problem with worship or whatever people do in churches, temples, mosques and other places of worship. If that brings them some solace, peace and energy then great. I do, however, have more than a problem with people who exploit or pimp their religion to cover their deep-seated hatred of others.

The KKK is, perhaps, the greatest example of what I disdain. Hooded men terrorizing and lynching blacks on Saturday night and donning choir robes on Sunday morning. They are not the only ‘christians’ who fit the category, but only the most obvious. Right now as I type this surely there are many ‘good Christians’ in churches all across America who harbor hate for ‘the other’ in their hearts.

A few days ago I liked a story of a research team at Notre Dame University that wrote a profile of the group identified as Tea Party adherents. Among the delineating characteristics were both their ‘christianity’ as well as their disdain for blacks and immigrants. What a combination!

I challenged a Tea Party [aka far-right] blogger about his un-Christian comments and he told me that he was ‘more of an Old Testament Christian.’ Gulp.  Run that by me again, will you? His hatred of blacks and specifically President Obama is blatant and persistent.  His most recent post with an accompanying photo of black CWA pickets at Verizon is titled: Picket Line: Planet of the Apes. He notes that there are only 5 white people in the photo and that he could find no other photo of the CWA strikers with more than 5 whites.

He’s a ‘christian,’ though, although that odd Old Testament kind. I’d guess a Jewish-Christian?

The regular gaggle of Tea Party types that feed together on that blog have called me lots of names- which is par for the developmental age in which they are stuck- but the one that they enjoy most is ‘atheist.’ Like Mao and Stalin, tagging me with ‘atheist’ apparently summarily dismisses me to the dustbin of historical relevance. Each of them, by the way, are ‘good’ Christians. They say so, just ask.

I suppose that begs the question, What then is a good Christian? Or is this circular reasoning?  Perhaps no reasoning at all? Does it depend on the definition of ‘is?’ Perhaps it depends on the circumstances? The time, the place, the environment, the company?

Each of the many GOP presidential hopefuls claim to be ‘good Christians.’ Isn’t that all swell and nice? Of course, that’s a whistle to all of  those mindless fundamental Christians who, like docile sheep, vote for any ‘good Christian’ because, well, because they are ‘good’ Christians.

Recall that candidate Obama had to ‘prove’ his Christianity to the entire electorate but that didn’t stop many from questioning the ‘type’ of Christian he was.  Apparently, a black Christian is marginal at best. Just ask a current KKK member. Or a Tea-bagger as one comment on my blog suggested as a name for this group. I rather like, Tea-bagger, because it gets to the point.

“Love one another as I have loved you.”

Simple, but apparently way-too complex for some ‘christians.’ Love everyone??  There surely had to have been a mis-translation of the Greek. Everyone?  Naw, what Jesus meant was…

JOHN 13:34 signs at baseball games.

Are you sure that there wasn’t an asterisk or something???

and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself. Luke 10:27.

He asked Jesus, ““And who is my neighbor?”

Ah, yes, WHO indeed?

Then Jesus, Luke writes, told a parable in which the most despised member of that society, a Samaritan, took pity on the beaten and robbed man.  A Samaritan? Like that other parable of the 10 lepers? Or that audacious act of Jesus at the well when he spoke to a Samaritan woman? Or in John 8:48 when Jesus was accused of being  dreaded and much-hated Samaritan himself!

A modern-day Christian would have to be a dullard or delusional not to have ‘gotten’ the message that Jesus preached. Or such a bigot that he is blind to what Jesus was all about.

Who then is a good Christian?

15 thoughts on “Klan-baggers and Other Jesus-Pimpers

  1. I think a big problem is having so much religion involved in politics. I always thought that religion was all about believing in something higher than yourself, not to mention the “After-life”. I think people really need to look into themselves for answers to this question. Did you really receive your moral compass through church? I would like to think I received mine through my parents, education, and common sense. It makes no sense to me, having political views based on what your religion teaches.

    But the question you asked is pretty good. What is a true Christian? Isn’t Christianity all about forgiveness? I don’t understand how some Christian groups have no problem with homosexuals, but others want to “reeducate” them.

    Plus, I think true racists only use the bible as a shield. They need a reason for their hate, Because even THEY realize deep down inside, that it is wrong to hate someone before ever getting to know them, or even having a conversation.

  2. I find it very interesting that you, J.O.B. use the term moral compass to describe force which drives you to a path of righteousness. I use the same term myself when I try to describe the attraction to altruism, the desire for promoting common welfare and my own desire to be loved and accepted.
    Frankly, I haven’t been able to think of myself as a christian since I was 13 or 14. You can blame Sister Mary Noreen and the attempt to crack a ceramic tiled hallway wall with my skull with, instead of beating the fear of god into my twisted little brain, she inadvertently created her own worst night mare.
    I had a St. Paul/Road to Damascus like revelation at that moment, but instead of going blind, my eyes were opened and I realized that if I slugged a nun, I wouldn’t go to hell, but I might incur a few serious legal problems.
    I believe we innately all have a moral compass and the true lodestone is much deeper than any written word…we are programmed.
    I have read a lot of Richard Dawson’s work which has explained the effect of genetic survival mechanisms and their effect on behavior as a specie survival tactic. He makes it reasonably easy for idiots like us to understand the biological impulsion for ethical behavior.
    But lately, I have a new hero, Richard Seeley. Seeley is probably the worlds formost authority on Bees. He wrote a book which I recently read once and now I am reading again and will perhaps become a major reference work for the rest of my life.
    The Honey Bee Democracy…
    Humans may be the epitome of evolution, but as a specie, we have existed for only a short time. Octopi are the epitome of mollusc evolution and they have existed much longer on the planet than humans and their ancestors.
    But, octopi are flawed by their very evolution. Their dead end blood chemistry…which is copper based instead of iron insures that they could never live longer than their short lifepsan.
    Humans are highly evolved. but perhaps we are innately flawed as well by the biological chance that controls the path way of our development of our species….
    Bees on the other hand have been around longer than humans or octopi and have a different sort of intelligence all together. They are the epitome of collective intelligence. The organization of bee hives and their behavior is kind of collective super brain which allows them to adapt and create solutions as a group very quickly.
    I think that though humans my be flawed, we have the ability to learn and evolve a collective consciousness. We can learn and adapt beyond our biological constraints.
    We can learn from the honey bees….they can teach us to dance…

    1. I love the bee movie….. I will have to check out that book, it sounds worth the read. I also agree that our greatest gift is the ability to learn and adapt. I have to ask though, why do you find it interesting that I used the term moral compass when it comes to Christian beliefs? Isn’t that what the Christians claim?

      1. …i just found it interesting that you used the term, which i use frequently to describe the innate, instinctive inner wisdom we all have, whether it is described as christian or religious…i just believe that it is part of true selfish genetic altruism that is the basis of our humanity.

  3. Microdot——- I would like to make a request. I can not offer you money, but I can offer you the satisfaction of knowing you will be helping to educate at least one American citizen (Me). It will only take up about 10-20 minutes of your time…….Depending on how fast you type. If you are interested, please reply and let me know…………Thank you.

      1. No trick. I have always been curious on how the universal healthcare system works. I’ve read articles, but they always seem to serve the author’s agenda. I would just like the opinion of someone who has lived here, as well as a country with some sort of universal healthcare system. I do value your opinion because I’m guessing you have had to deal with both systems at some point or another.
        I will put a post on my blog just for you. If you do not have time that is cool, but I would appreciate your knowledge on this one, plus I would like you to follow up every once in awhile since I’m sure I’ll have questions.
        http:// job60445.blogspot.com/

        Merci beaucoup

  4. you might find the post I just wrote on the Ruandan Health Care system enlightening. I explains a lot about the waste of the administration of American Health Care, Amazingly enough, Ruanda has a very modern, progressive system that costs each participation Ruandan 2 US dollars a year. 97% of Ruandans participate and the 3% who don’t are those who do not trust modern western medicine.
    I found your proposition interesting. I certainly can explain the difference between France and the US. You would love my dentist!

    1. Interesting article. However there were a few things I was confused by: foreign aid supplementing costs, trying to compare U.S. currency to theirs, apparent lack of specialized medicine. There were others things, but these are the biggest.

      Regarding the bureaucracy, one of the the things I do when going to the doctor is count the number of NON-MEDICAL personnel in the office. I must be really, really old because I can remember going to the doctor for a summer camp physical and the ONLY other person in the office was the nurse.

      1. Jeff, I re edited my post…a wee bit. thanks to some helpful comments. you have to admit, Rwanda is trying to build a new health care system from the bottom up. We have to tear our down to be able to do that….perhaps an apt analogy would be to compare the plight of Obama to the ancient Greek Myth of Sisyphus….

  5. Amusing, The Old Testament still has the rule of reciprocity (AKA “The Golden Rule”). Additionally, One IS supposed to be thy brother’s keeper–that is take care of your fellow man’s welfare.

    To say one is “an Old testament Christian” is silly since Christ brought a new gospel. If you follow Christ, then you follow that Gospel.

    The problem is that this new religion wants to get rid of the social justice portion of the gospel, which is about as contrary as you can get to Christianity.

    In other words, Barb should be the exact opposite of how she acts.

    1. That’s the part that kills me. These groups are always begging for money to send “missionaries” someplace, but to hell with their next door neighbor.

Comments are closed.