Jesus, Interrupted

A dear friend of mine sent me a link to an NPR interview with Bart Ehrman, author of Jesus, Interrupted: Revealing the Hidden Contradictions in the Bible (and Why We Don’t Know About Them).  As this is Holy Week, I thought that the topic was a great one for discussion.

Bang off, I knew that I’d like Ehrman’s book because the opening paragraph includes this tidbit:

Originally an evangelical Christian, Ehrman believed that the Bible was the inerrant word of God. But later, as a student at Princeton Theological Seminary, Ehrman started reading the Bible with a more historical approach and analyzing contradictions in the Gospels.

Exactly. No doubt the two oh-so righteous fundamentalist spies that snoop my blog have their extra-large panties all in a knot over reading that line.  That’s why I chose to post this- well, not really.

I wonder if very many Christians know that there was no Matthew, Mark, Luke or John. I’m betting 15% at best.  I think I learned that at the outset of my ‘studies’ in Agnosticism 101.

Has anyone read the book?

5 thoughts on “Jesus, Interrupted

  1. Hello Muddy,
    Due to the fact we are coming up to Passover, I will pass on this one contradiction is with Paul and Peter differing stories of Jesus turning over the money changer’s tables who were doing business within the Temple.

    Paul recounts the story of Jesus turning over the tables of the money changers in the Temple as being one of the reasons the Jewish religious leaders had the Romans arrest Jesus in the same timeframe of the Passover when Jesus was crucified shortly afterwards.

    But Peter tells this story of the turning over of the money changers tables in the Temple happening four years before the crucifixion of Jesus Passover.

    How can there be such a big difference in just this one major Bible Story if it is supposed to be from God directly to Man’s hand. Did God screw up this story….or did MAN?

  2. I’ve been gone since I was celebrating passover, as Yeshua (Jesus) did. Most people would miss that the last supper was a Passover Seder.

    Easter made no sense to me until I figured out that it was just passover for Christians.

    Just remember this Holy Week, Yeshua wants you to go Kosher for Easter!

  3. Engineer- that is one of many ‘difficulties’ with the Gospels. And those differences are very understandable for those who do not hold that the Bible was the inerrant word of God. They are stories of what some people ‘heard’ along with fabrications that are so commonplace in all epics and myths.

    Yet, when fundamentalists insist that these stories are the inerrant word of God, then it all falls apart, subsequently requiring enormous amounts of apologetics to twist them into some semblance of order.

    Laci- Peace and Good Wishes to You on Passover.

    Some Christian churches, oddly, have taken to reenacting the Seder on Thursday, the salt, the bitter herbs, the lamb, the children asking the traditional questions. It seems very odd to me and an encroachment of one religion upon the other.

    Steve- always great links!

  4. Mudrake, why should it seem odd that Christians are discovering Passover? I said I couldn’t understand the Easter holiday since it moved around (unlike Christmas) unitl I figured out that it was twinned with Passover. The last supper is a seder.

    So, if you think about it, it makes sense and is a good holiday for Christians to adopt.

Comments are closed.